Malaysia joined the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

01 October 2020


Malaysia on Wednesday became the 46th country to ratify the Nuclear Weapons Ban Treaty (NWPT).

According to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) website, Malaysia's Foreign Minister Hishamuddin Hussein signed the document at a ceremony in Kuala Lumpur, after which the ratification instrument was deposited with the UN. According to the organization, now four more states must ratify the treaty for it to enter into force.

The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons was adopted on July 7, 2017, with the support of 122 UN member states. The Treaty was opened for signature on September 20 of the same year in the framework of the 72nd session of the UN General Assembly in New York and will enter into force 90 days after the deposit of the 50th instrument of ratification. To date, only 46 countries have joined it.


GSV "Russia - Islamic World"

Photo: Creative Commons

Based on materials from TASS