Russia lifts all restrictions on transport communication with Armenia and Kyrgyzstan

07 June 2022

Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin has signed an order cancelling all coronavirus restrictions on transport communication with Armenia and Kyrgyzstan. The document was published on Tuesday on the official portal of legal information.

Changes are made to the cabinet order of May 20, 2022: it established "a list of foreign countries, in respect of which the Russian Federation has lifted the temporary restrictions on transport links". This list is now includes Armenia and Kyrgyzstan.

Previously, it consisted of nine countries, including Abkhazia, Belarus, Donetsk and Lugansk People's Republics, Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia, Ukraine and South Ossetia. Transport restrictions are cancelled from the date of inclusion of the state in this list.

As stated in the order, the document was approved in accordance with the presidential decree of June 15, 2021, on temporary measures to regulate the legal status of foreigners in Russia against the background of the spread of coronavirus. That decree, in particular, suspended the validity of temporary residence permits and residence permits in Russia for foreigners. It was noted that it was suspended for the period "until the expiration of 90 days from the date of removal of temporary restrictions on transport communication" with foreign countries.

The list of countries, in respect of which transport restrictions are lifted, was to be determined by the Government of the Russian Federation. Now the list is approved, thus, in respect of citizens of these states in 90 days the term of stay in Russia will be resumed.



GSV "Russia - Islamic world"

Photo: Federation Council

Based on materials from TASS