Four Polling Stations to Open in Kyrgyzstan for Russian Presidential Elections

29 February

The Russian embassy in Bishkek announced that four polling stations will be established in Kyrgyzstan for the upcoming presidential elections in the Russian Federation.


"Voting in the Russian presidential election will take place in Kyrgyzstan on March 17, 2024, from 08:00 to 20:00 local time [from 05:00 to 17:00 Moscow time]," the statement read.


Russian citizens residing in Kyrgyzstan will have the opportunity to vote at the embassy in Bishkek, the consulate general in Osh, the city of Kant (Chui Oblast), home to the Russian military airbase, and the city of Karakol (the administrative center of Issyk-Kul Oblast).


"The elections are open to Russian citizens aged 18 and above, who must present a valid Russian foreign or domestic passport when voting in person at any of the designated polling stations. Online voting from abroad will not be available," cautioned the diplomatic mission.


The exact number of Russian citizens in Kyrgyzstan remains unknown, as they are not required to register with consular authorities upon arrival in the country.



GSV "Russia - Islamic World"

Photo: Nikolay Bulykin/Creative Commons 4.0

Based on materials from TASS